Meteorological Radio Stations.—Five meteorological radio stations are located at Fort MacKenzie, Que., Nitchequon, Que., Dore Lake, Que., Sandgirt Lake, Labrador, and Dease Lake, B.C.

These stations forward to the meteorological office the weather observations taken at the above points.

The meteorological station at Port Harrison, Que., performs similar functions, and also provides a restricted coast station service during the season of navigation in Hudson Bay.

Ionosphere Measurement Stations.—The ionosphere station at Clyde River, Baffin Island, taken over from the Carnegie Institute, Washington, D.C., on Sept. 1, 1945, and the ionosphere station at St. John's, Nfld., taken over from the Royal Canadian Air Force on Mar. 31, 1946, by the Department of Transport, are both part of a world-wide chain of 50 stations, established for the purpose of predicting short-wave communication coverage, also for determining the reliability and deviation of bearings from short-wave direction finders.

Subsection 4.—Other Federal Government Radio Stations

Department of National Defence.—In addition to stations established for military purposes, Militia Services (Royal Canadian Corps of Signals) operates 11 permanent stations and 2 summer stations situated along the Mackenzie River and in Yukon on behalf of the Department of Mines and Resources, Bureau of Northwest Territories and Yukon Affairs.

Department of Public Works.—A total of 32 stations, 12 to provide emergency communication between the mainland and certain islands, 18 to provide emergency links in existing landline circuits, and 2 for Departmental communication are operated by the Department of Public Works.

Department of Mines and Resources.—This Department operates under the Surveys and Engineering Branch, 1 fixed station, 9 portable stations, 1 experimental station and 1 commercial receiving station; National Parks Bureau, 9 fixed stations, 16 portable stations and 2 experimental stations; Mines and Geology Branch, 1 fixed station and 1 commercial receiving station; Bureau of Northwest Territories and Yukon Affairs, 2 fixed stations and 28 portable stations. These stations are used to provide communication and time signal service for survey parties and the protection and administration of National Parks.

Department of National Revenue.—This Department operates 2 private commercial stations.

Section 3.—Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

Subsection 1.—Administration of the CBC

The history and development of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation is given at pp. 737-740 of the 1947 Year Book.

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation operates under the Canadian Broadcasting Act, 1936, and is headed by a Board of nine Governors, chosen to give representation to the principal geographic divisions of Canada, and a full-time Chairman. The Board determines and supervises policy, but day-to-day operations and administration are the responsibility of the General Manager. The Adminis-